Vehicle Tags & Registration

Renewing Online is Fast and Easy!



Renew your vehicle registration electronically online by using IKan

In addition, motorists may renew their vehicle registration using a touch-tone telephone by calling (866) 4KS-TAGS (457-8247).

Kansas State Parks Passport



Kansas motor vehicle owners can buy an annual park vehicle permit as part of their vehicle registration process. The permit – called a Kansas State Parks Passport – costs $15.50.

This lower-price, non-transferable permit will be available only during the vehicle registration process at a motor vehicle registration office 
or when registering by mail.

Owners 
must request to purchase the permit; offering is not automatic. The Kansas State Parks Passport will expire when the vehicle registration expires a year later.

Personal Property Tax



Personal Property Tax information is available from the County Appraiser's Office.

Vehicle Registration Fees
Trailer Registration Fees
Type
Amount

Weight
Amount
Automobiles $44.75

8,000 lb. trailer $49.75
Trucks $54.75

12,000 lb. trailer $59.75
Motorcycles $39.75

Over 12,000 lb. trailer $69.75
Mopeds $20




Please note:

All fees above do not include sales tax. The sales tax rate is 9.25%, the breakdown is County 1.25%, City 1.5%, State 6.5%.

 *Total amount due includes a $4 DMV modernization fee to Highway Fund,                                  $5.00 County Service fee,$3.25 to Law Enforcement,$2.50 facility fee*

View the Tag Renewal Calendar.

Motor Vehicle



 The License plates in Kansas expire based on the first letter in the last name of the person and/or Business name on the title.

Renewals on vehicles 16,000 pounds or more and trailers (excluding travel trailers) will be issued beginning February 1st.

The following chart displays the first letter of last name and/or Business name and month due:

 Last Name Begins With: Tag Expires At Midnight On: 
 A February 28 (or 29)
 B March 31
 C-D April 30
 E-F-G May 31
 H-I June 30
 J-K-L July 31
 M-N-O August 31
 P-Q-R September 30
 S October 31
 T-V-W November 30
 U-X-Y-Z December 31


Vehicle Registration Check List



Kansas plates and registration are renewed annually. There is no grace period on plate expiration (except on-line renewals).

To Renew you will need the following



  • Prior registration and/or renewal notice and/or plate number and/or VIN# of the vehicle
  • Proof of current insurance (Insurance Card or Digital). It is state law that if you do not show current proof of insurance you will not receive a tag.

To Title a New Vehicle Purchased From A Dealer



  • Legally assigned Manufacturer's Statement of Origin (MSO)
  • Sales tax receipt or bill of sale
  • Physical proof of insurance ( Insurance Card or Digital )

Title a Newly Purchased (Used) Vehicle with a Kansas Title



  • Legally assigned title from previous owner/dealer
  • Sales tax receipt or bill of sale
  • Current mileage
  • Physical proof of insurance ( Insurance Card or Digital )
  • Lien holder Release (Notarized), if one is showing on front of the title

Title a Newly Purchased (Used) Vehicle with an Out of State (Non-Kansas) Title



  • Legally assigned title from previous owner/dealer 
  • Sales tax receipt or bill of sale
  • Current mileage
  • Physical proof of insurance ( Insurance Card or Digital )
  • Lien holder Release (Notarized), if one is showing on front of the title
  • Completed MVE-1 Form, obtained from the vehicle inspection officer

Transfer an Out-of-State Vehicle Registration to Kansas



  • Current Out-of-State title or faxed copy of title from lien holder and name and address of the lien holder
  • Completed MVE-1 Form, obtained from the vehicle inspection officer
  • Physical proof of insurance ( Insurance Card or Digital )

No Over the Phone Estimates will be given.



Bring  in your title and all paperwork from the owner/dealer to obtain an estimate in person or add the following for a rough estimate.

Kansas vehicle property tax
Title                   $10.00
Lienholder Fee  $1.50
Vehicle Registration $44.75 (Car)  or $54.75(Truck)
Sales Tax  (Purchase price x 9.25%)
= Rough Estimate